View Our Practice Areas

Portland DUI Defense Attorney

Serving Clients Throughout Western Oregon

If you were pulled over and charged with drunk driving in Portland, or elsewhere in western Oregon, you are at risk for losing your driver's license. Unless you act quickly, your license could be suspended.

You have 10 days to request an administrative hearing before the Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles if you want to fight the suspension of your drivers' license.

In addition to administrative charges, you will also face criminal charges for DUI (driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs), and you could face additional charges for traffic crimes such as reckless driving. With so much at stake, you should talk to a criminal defense attorney immediately.

Don't Try to Fight a DUI on Your Own

Contact me, Portland DUI defense lawyer David J. Celuch. In your free initial consultation I can explain your rights, the penalties you may be facing, and the possible ways to fight the DUI/DWI charges.

Don't allow a drunk driving conviction on your record if you can avoid it. Get experienced legal help. I previously conducted educational seminars for other lawyers on DUI defense and I wrote a chapter in the DUI defense manual used by many lawyers. I know what I'm talking about — I have handled many drunk driving cases in over 15 years of doing criminal defense.

Potential Penalties for a Drunk Driving Conviction

Before you plead guilty in exchange for diversion, talk to a lawyer to be sure you know how this plea will affect your life and your driving record.

  • First DUI Offense: If you have never been arrested before, you could qualify for a diversion program in which you can pay court fees and attend a class or participate in treatment. If you successfully complete the program, your case can be dismissed. You will have to enter a guilty plea and if you don't successfully complete the program the charges will not be dismissed — you will be sentenced.
  • Second Offense: If you have a prior DUI conviction and are picked up again, you face a longer period of driver's license suspension, jail time, fines of $1,000 or more, alcohol evaluation and treatment, and attendance at a victim's panel.
  • Third Offense: With a third DUI conviction you face jail time and possibly a lifetime of license revocation. A third DUI in 10 years is felony DUI. If convicted, you may be facing up to five years in prison, up to $125,000 in fines, and lifetime license revocation.

Contact Us for a Free Consultation

Call 503-388-4325 for a free initial consultation or contact my law firm online. My office hours are 8 am to 5 pm weekdays. If you call after hours you will receive my voice mail, which will give you a cell phone number to contact in case of an emergency.