How is a drunk driving conviction treated in Oregon?

| Feb 17, 2019 | Drunk Driving |

Oregon State is one that cracks down hard on people who are convicted of driving while under the influence. Today, David J. Celuch takes a look at the different ways that having a DUI conviction could impact your life in both the short and long term.

Like many states, there are tiers that deal with the level of severity of a conviction, along with how many convictions a person has had in the past. For first-time offenders, the penalty can still be harsh as you will still have to pay any fines or fees associated with the incident. However, you may be able to apply for a diversion program. If you successfully complete it, you will be able to have the charges dropped. If you are unsuccessful, however, the sentencing will proceed.

Second time offenders face longer periods of jail time and license suspension, as well as fines totaling over $1,000. Not only will you be required to go to a treatment program, but you will also be required to attend a victim’s panel.

For third time offenders, your license could be permanently revoked. If all 3 offenses are within 10 years, it’s a felony that could have you facing 5 years in prison or 125,000$ in fines.

Unfortunately, if you are facing a DUI charge of any sort, you don’t have much time to act. Since time is of the essence, you may wish to take a look at our web page on drunk driving, linked here. You can also contact our attorney directly if you would like to discuss your case and options further.