Teens in Oregon and the rest of the United States are dying from car crashes, drug overdoses and guns at alarming rates. According to CNN, between 1999 and 2013, there was a 33 percent decline in the death rate for people at ages 10 to 19 years old in America. It then climbed by 12 percent between 2013 and 2016. Many experts point to ramping up efforts to educate teens on car and driver safety as a solid solution.
Sometimes, people think of teenagers or young adults when they hear about drunk driving. From crazy frat parties to peer pressure among high schoolers, there are many reasons why some people associate drunk driving with young drivers. With that being said, it is crucial to keep in mind that drivers of any age may be charged with operating a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol. For example, an older adult may be charged with DUI, and there are a number of unique considerations for people who are going through this.
Most people understand there are consequences for their actions. You probably know that if you break the law, you will likely have penalties.
If you have been convicted of a crime in Oregon and are facing serious charges that could potentially result in your imprisonment for a significant length of time, you may be trying to do anything you can to lessen the consequences you are facing. In your efforts to put yourself in the best possible position, you have been looking into the possibility of accepting a plea bargain.
People in Oregon know that the state takes a pretty hard stance against drivers who are arrested for driving under the influence of intoxicants. While it is important to protect people from unnecessary accidents, it is equally important to respect and protect the rights of drivers. Interestingly, even though the law states that a person can be deemed legally intoxicated with a blood alcohol content of 0.08 percent or higher, a driver in Oregon may actually be charged with a DUII offense if their BAC exceeds even only 0.05 percent.