The law regarding cannabis possession and use in Oregon has been evolving for a number of years. Because of this, it has been difficult for many residents to keep up with what they can and cannot do with regard to cannabis. This post will present an overview of the current state of cannabis laws in Oregon, but readers should not rely on this post as legal advice. All questions about cannabis possession, drug crimes, and related matters should be directed to trusted criminal defense attorneys.
Who can possess cannabis in Oregon, and how much can they have?
Cannabis possession is limited to individuals who are at least 21 years of age. That means adults under 21 cannot legally possess it. If a person is of legal age to possess cannabis, then they may have up to certain limits depending on if they are in public or in a private dwelling.
For example, a person may not have more than one ounce of usable marijuana in their possession when they are in public. However, in their home, a person can have up to 8 ounces of usable marijuana. Different cannabis products have different permissible possession amounts, and it is important that individuals understand these differences to protect themselves under the law.
Can Oregon residents travel out of state with cannabis products?
Even though cannabis is legal in some quantities in Oregon, Oregon residents cannot cross state lines with it. An individual can travel in-state by car or plane with up to one ounce of cannabis if they are at least 21 years old, but they cannot travel out of state with it. This rule applies even if the state the individual travels to permits cannabis possession as well.
It can be easy for individuals to get confused by Oregon’s cannabis laws as they are intricate and subject to change. When facing a cannabis possession charge, it is important that an individual seeks legal help. A criminal defense attorney can support their clients’ case with legal knowledge and guidance.